SAWL's


Student Affairs & Wellness Liaisons for peer support

Student representatives

  • Can be a ‘safety net’ for fellow medical students offering support and guidance in a confidential and non-judgemental manner.  Reps may direct students to services within Dalhousie and beyond.

  • Will coordinate and promote sessions/activities, including
    Orientation Week - i.e., panel with SAWLs reps and Student Affairs, followed by Yoga
    Physician Addiction OR Mental Health Talk
    Significant Others Night
    Panel discussions between senior and junior students.

  • Promote Student Affairs events throughout the year –
    Career Night/Day,
    Resident Living Library
    Career Counselling Sessions

  • Manage and promote student wellness resources (including counselling, Doctor’s Nova Scotia support program, Doctor’s New Brunswick support program, etc)

  • Represent/support student(s) at committees and events

  • Member of the Wellness Week team with DMSS Sports and Wellness Rep, VP External Jr., President of Med1 class, President of Med2 class.

  • Attend monthly meetings with Assistant Dean and Director of Student Affairs of their respective campus (applies to Med1 and Med2 SAWLs)
     
    Learn More 
     

Contact Your Student Rep 

Med 1                     DMNS   

                               

                                DMNB 

Maya Kovacs: maya.kovacs@dal.ca
Aaron Bates: aaron.bates@dal.ca
Melanie MacGillvray:  ml344598@dal.ca  
Scott FenwickScott.Fenwick@dal.ca
 

Med 2                      DMNS   

                               

                                 DMNB 

Joanna Mader: Joanna.mader@dal.ca
Willem Blois: wb@Dal.Ca
Renee Kinden: Renee.Kinden@dal.ca
Cameron Ashe: Cameron.Ashe@dal.ca
 

Med 3                      DMNS   

                               

                                DMNB 

Warda Limaye wr661287@da.ca
John Bartolacci jh236100@dal.ca
Andy Hong: Andy.Hong@dal.ca 
Kierston Amos: Kiersten.Amos@dal.ca
 

Med 4                     DMNS   

                               

                                DMNB 

Mike MacGillivray: Michael.MacGillivary@Dal.Ca
Sonya Swift: sonya.swift@dal.ca
Eric Manuel: Eric.Manuel@dal.ca
Natalie Ouellette: Natalie.Ouellette@dal.ca