Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.



Advancing knowledge

Since its inception, the Department of Emergency Medicine has demonstrated an exceptional commitment to building research capacity and advancing knowledge in Emergency Medicine.

Our investigators have a broad range of research interests that reflect the diverse nature of clinical practice in emergency departments and in pre-hospital care. Our particular research strengths are in the areas of:

  • EMS and trauma systems
  • resuscitation
  • advanced airway management
  • point of care ultrasound
  • pain management
  • patient safety and clinical decision-making
  • medical education and knowledge transfer
  • public health and injury prevention
  • patient information and communication
  • geriatric emergency medicine

Our research program incorporates adult and pediatric emergency medicine, trauma and EMS. It networks across Maritime Canada, with sites in Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick.  We collaborate closely with colleagues across Canada and the United States, as well as participating in international networks such as IFEM.  We advise our residency programs on research and scholarly activities, and our research support team offer their expertise in clinical trial coordination, database management, research administration, grant applications and Research Ethics Board submissions.  This program is supported by the Department of Emergency Medicine Research Committee:


Chair and IWK: Dr. Katrina Hurley, MD, FRCPC, MHI, Research Director, Division of Pediatric Emergency Medicine, IWK Health Centre.

SJRH: Dr. Paul Atkinson, MB, MA, FRCEM, Professor, Dalhousie University, Saint John Regional Hospital, New Brunswick.

QEII: Dr. Kirk Magee, MD, FRCPC, MSc, Emergency Physician, QEII, Associate Professor, Dalhousie University.

EMS: Dr. Alexandra Carter, MD, FRCPC, MPH, Emergency Physician, Assistant Professor, Director of EMS, Dalhousie University, Program Director of EMS Fellowship, QEII.

PEI: Dr. Aaron Sibley, MD, FRCPC, DABEM, Emergency Physician, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Charlottetown, PEI.

Site Research Coordinators:

QEII: Corinne DeMone, Research and Education Manager, Department of Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University

IWK: Eleanor Fitzpatrick, RN MN ENC(C), Coordinator Research Program, IWK Emergency Department, Dept of Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University

SJRH: Jacqueline Fraser RNBN ENC, Research Coordinator, Department of Emergency Medical Medicine, Saint John Regional Hospital


Head, Department of Emergency Medicine, Dr. David Petrie, MD, FRCPC, Professor Dalhousie University, Chief Central Zone Network of Emergency Departments NSHA

QEII: Dr. Sam Campbell, MB BCh, CCFP(EM), Chief, Department of Emergency Medicine, QEII, Emergency Physician/Professor, In-House Paramedics.

IWK: Dr. Shannon MacPhee, MD, FRCPC, Chief Emergency Medicine, IWK Health Centre, Division Head, Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University, IWK Health Centre

SJRH: Dr. Michael Howlett, MD, CCFP(EM), MHSA, Clinical Academic Head, Dept. of Emergency Medicine, Horizon Health Network, Saint John, Associate Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University, Saint John.

ARU/Residency/Fellowship Program Directors

Dr. Janet McIntyre, MD, FRCPC, Emergency Physician, Assistant Professor, QEII, Program Director, Royal College.

Dr. Peter Ross, MD, CCFP EM,  Assistant Professor, Memorial University of Newfoundland School of Medicine, Post Graduate Site Director for Emergency Medicine, Academic Emergency Physician, Dalhousie University, Department of Emergency Medicine, Saint John Site

Dr. Bijon Das, CFPC CEMJ, Residency Director, Physician, QEII

Dr. Emma Burns, MD, FRCPC, Staff Emergency Physician , Interim Program Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Director of Pediatric Point of Care Ultrasound, Education and Administration

Director of Pediatric Emergency Medicine Subspecialty Resident Simulation Program, IWK Health Centre
Assistant Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University 

Acute Research Unit Director (QEII): Dr. Mary-Lynn Watson, Associate Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine & Continuing Medical Education, Director Acute Research Unit.


IT Support                                                                                                                                                 David Urquhart, IT Manager, Department of Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University

Administrative Support                                                                                                                       Melissa MacDougall, Research Administrative Assistant  Melissa.MacDougall@nshealth.ca


Dr. Janet Curran, Clinical Scientist, IWK Health Centre

EM/EMS(NB): Dr. James French, Assistant Professor in Emergency Medicine, Chairman, New Brunswick Trauma Program Research Sub-Committee. Area 2 Emergency Simulation Lead, Dalhousie University.  Emergency Physician, Saint John Regional Hospital.

Several of our sites and divisions are national research leaders, including our Division of Emergency Medical Services (EMS).  To learn more about our research please visit:         

For more information about research in the Department of Emergency Medicine, contact Corinne DeMone at Corinne.Demone@nshealth.ca

Thank you for your interest in research at the Department of Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University.

Dr. Paul Atkinson, BSC(Hons), MB BCH BAO, MA(CANTAB), MRCP(UK), FCEM, CFEU
Chair of Department of Emergency Medicine Research Committee
Professor and Research Program Director Emergency Medicine Dalhousie University
Saint John Regional Hospital