Contact Us

Get in touch

Academic office address:

Dalhousie Family Medicine
1465 Brenton Street, Suite 402
Halifax NS  B3J 3T4

Phone: 902-473-4747
Toll-free: 800-319-9089
Fax: 902-473-4760
Email: dfmreception@dal.ca


View our teaching sites for additional contact information for faculty and staff.

Directory

Administration

Department head
Dr. Katherine Stringer
Phone: 902-473-4624
Email: dfmhead@dal.ca

Chief operating officer
Cathy Charles
Phone: 902-473-8035
Email: cathy.charles@dal.ca

Executive assistant
Tracy Kennedy
Phone: 902-473-8043
Email: dfmadmin@dal.ca

Financial manager
Brittany Deyoung
Phone: 902-473-1545
Email: dfmfinance@dal.ca

Financial assistant
Robert Avery
Email: dfmfinassist@dal.ca

Physician resource officer
Denise Lavoie
Phone: 902-491-5895 
Email: fmfocus@dal.ca

Medical Education - Program Office

*Please email fmeducation@dal.ca for general inquiries about the Dalhousie Family Medicine Education Program. Your email will be forwarded accordingly.  


Postgraduate program director
Dr. Sasha Sealy
Phone: 902-473-8047
Email: sasha.sealy@dal.ca

Assistant postgraduate program director
Dr. Jennifer Leverman
Email: Jennifer.leverman@dal.ca

Undergraduate program director
Dr. Jacalynne Hernandez-Lee
Phone: 902-473-8047
Email: j.hernandez-lee@dal.ca

Medical education manager
Nancy McCarther
Phone: 902-473-4746
Email: nancy.mccarther@dal.ca

Medical education coordinator
Allister Barton
Phone: 902-473-4749
Email: allister.barton@dal.ca

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

CaRMS and rotation specialist
Linda Guy
Phone: 902-473-4748
CaRMS: fmresidency@dal.ca
Scheduling: dfm.undergrad@dal.ca

Curriculum and evaluation coordinator
Alyea MacNeil
Phone: 902-491-5876
Email: fmcec@dal.ca

Education committee secretary
Susan Russell McGrath
Phone: 902-473-4745
Email: fmcommittees@dal.ca

Education secretary
Daryll Lambert
Phone: 902-473-8047
Email: fmeducation@dal.ca

Medical education assistant
Laura MacDonald
Phone: 902-473-8042
Email: dfmcurriculum@dal.ca

 

Research Unit

Contact information for the research team can be found on the Primary Care Research Unit's Contact Us page.

Interim director, research & scholarly activity
Dr. Helena Piccinini
Phone: 902-473-4700
Email: helena.piccinini@dal.ca

Research operations manager
Barbara O'Neill
Phone: 902-473-3484
Email: bloneill@dal.ca

Research administrative assistant
Shakir Ahmed 
Phone: 902-473-4741
Email: dfmresearch@dal.ca

 

Faculty Development

Director, faculty development 
Dr. Kathleen Horrey
Phone: 902-473-8047
Email: kathleen.horrey@dal.ca

Secretary, faculty development
Daryll Lambert
Phone: 902-473-8047
Email: fmfacdev@dal.ca

 

Program Chief Resident and Site Associate Chief Residents

Program chief resident

Dr. Nicholyn Selvanayagam
nicholyn.selvanayagam@dal.ca

Associate chief residents

Annapolis Valley

Dr. Thomas Ritchie
thomas.ritchie@dal.ca

Cape Breton

Dr. Stephanie Cheon
st966964@dal.ca

Fredericton

Dr. Anu Ananth and Natalie Wallace
anuananth@dal.ca
nwallace@dal.ca

Halifax

Dr. Krista Dunn and Dr. Douglas Neal
hfxchief@dal.ca

Moncton

Dr. Samantha Bland
Samantha.bland@dal.ca

North Nova

Dr. Andrew Neufeld
Andrew.neufeld@dal.ca

Prince Edward Island

Dr. Ida Szarics
iszarics@dal.ca@dal.ca

Saint John

Dr. Nicholyn Selvanayagam
nicholyn.selvanayagam@dal.ca

Saint John iFMEM

Dr. Robert Dunfield
Robert.dunfield@dal.ca

South West Nova

Dr. Melissa Power
melissapower@dal.ca

Nova Scotia Practice Ready Assessment Program

Dr. Fiona Bergin, clinical director
Gwen MacPherson, program coordinator
Phone: 902-473-4392

Fax: 902-421-0081
Email: info@nsprap.ca

Website: nsprap.com

Questions or comments regarding this departmental website may be directed to the website manager.