Research Office Staff

People and programs to support research

The people in Dalhousie’s Medical Research Development Office (MRDO) are dedicated to helping our researchers succeed. They foster a positive and collegial environment for research and ensure that medical researchers at all levels—from student to senior faculty member—have access to the facilities, collaborators, funding, training and other supports they require to conduct excellent research.

Our MRDO team:

Eileen Denovan-Wright, PhD
Associate Dean, Research

Phone: 902-494-4199
Email: Eileen.Denovan-Wright@dal.ca
• advance innovative research agenda
• recruitment and retention
• research space

John Sapp, MD, FRCPC, FHRS
Assistant Dean, Clinical Research

Phone: 902-473-4272
Email: sappj@dal.ca
• clinical research and clinical trials
• collaborative and multidisciplinary research
• clinical and basic science linkages
• research career development, clinical faculty

TBD
Assistant Dean, Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies
Phone: 902-494-2995
Email: TBD
• graduate student and post-doctoral fellow rep
• career development for graduate and post-doc trainees
• Professional & Research Education Program (PREP)

Paul Atkinson, MB BCh BAO, MA (Cantab), FRCPC
Assistant Dean, Research – Dalhousie Medicine New Brunswick (DMNB)
Phone: 506-343-0294
Email: paul.atkinson@dal.ca
• DMNB research programs and facilities
• collaboration with partner institutions and clinicians
• recruitment and retention of DMNB researchers
• chair DMNB Faculty of Medicine Research Council

Sara Lavender, MSc
Director, Medical Research Development Office (MRDO)
Phone: 902-494-6392
Email: sara.lavender@dal.ca
• research strategy, policy, projects and communications
• research and CORES finance
• research chairs – recruitment, review and renewal
• peer review and mentor programs

Jessica Connors, PhD
Manager, Research Infrastructure and Support
Phone: 902-494-2699
Email: jessica.connors@dal.ca  
• infrastructure, CFI and CORES facilities operations
• awards and nominations
• research facilitation

Jaymi Cormier, PhD
Manager, Health Research Strategy
Phone: 902-494-3886
Email: jaymi.cormier@dal.ca
• collaborative health research strategy
• health partner engagement
• proposal development 

Shirin Shaikh, BComm
Manager, Research Training and Support

Email: shirin.shaikh@dal.ca
• resident, graduate and undergraduate research training programs
• professional and research training, curricula
• research symposia and public lectures

Jodi Reid, BPR, BA
Manager, WAVE Programs and Support

Email: jodi.reid@dal.ca
• resident, graduate and undergraduate research training programs
• professional and research training, curricula
• research symposia and public lectures

Tanya Matheson
Analyst

Phone: 902-494-1591
Email: tanya.matheson@dal.ca
• research metrics
• website

Sandy Bennett
Administrative Assistant

Phone: 902-494-1395
Email: sandy.bennett@dal.ca
• administrative, technical and logistical support