Peter Dolphin Memorial Prize in Biochemistry

This prize is awarded to the fourth year student in the Honours Program in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology who is judged to have the best overall performance in the Honours Research Project.

Born in Derby, England, Dr. Dolphin was educated at the University of Southampton. He served as a Scientist with the National Institute for Medical Research in London, England before emigrating to Canada in 1972 as a post-doctoral fellow with the Department of Biochemistry at McGill University, where he went on to become a Research Associate and Assistant Professor. He joined Dalhousie's Department of Biochemistry in 1978.

In the more than 20 years he served at Dalhousie, Dr. Dolphin contributed significantly to research and education, while maintaining a steady contribution in a variety of administrative roles. His research interests resulted in nearly 90 peer-reviewed publications in prestigious scientific journals relating to biochemistry, lipid metabolism, and cardiovascular disease. For more than two decades, his ongoing research was been supported by a sustained level of operational funding from highly competitive national agencies, and included many productive international collaborations.

Dr. Dolphin served on national and international committees at executive levels, including as Regional Director of the Medical Research Council of Canada, Regional Director of the Canadian Institute for Health Research, and President of the Canadian Federation of Biological Societies.

Among Dr. Dolphin's notable characteristics were his ability and willingness to offer opinions and perspectives that challenged traditional approaches. He could always be counted on for a thought provoking contribution that quickly drew attention to components of the issue that might have been otherwise overlooked.

Join us in celebrating the accomplishments of our top students.

Year Student
2024 Maegan Burke
2023 Charlotte Maclean
2022 Katie Halliday
2021 Joshua Hayden
2020 Noa Sorbara
2019 Kathleen Vergunst
2018 Morgan Colp
2017 Zoe Kirste
2016 Zachary Morrison
2015 Kathleen Orrell
2014 Elizabeth Lake
2013 Matthew Foss
2012 Aled Iaboni
2011 Ryan Marko & Elizabeth Polvi
2010 Grant Stevens
2009 Courtney Stairs
2008 Christine Sharp
2007 Rosemary Kepkay
2006 Brandi Mahaney
2005 Tyler Reddy