Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X
 

Global Health

Reaching out to improve care around the world

Global Health Unit
The Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology’s Global Health Unit (GHU) works to promote the importance of being involved in global health endeavours, provide support to department members who choose to pursue global health efforts on both international and local levels, and work towards improving access to health care for vulnerable populations.

Established in 2013, the GHU has enjoyed several early successes, including the creation of a resident global health elective, the establishment of a postgraduate global health curriculum, and the development of connections and partnerships with many local and international organizations.

If you have suggestions for activities for the GHU or are interested in getting involved in global health initiatives, please contact a member of the Global Health Advisory Committee through our Cooridinator, Samira Thomeh; samira.thomeh@iwk.nshealth.ca

Mission and mandate

EDUCATION & EVENTS:
To stimulate discussion and awareness among department members and the local community about obstetrical and gynecological issues in global health

RESEARCH:
To contribute to the international body of research on global health in obstetrics and gynaecology while developing greater interest within the department and university

OUTREACH & COLLABORATION:
To develop collaborative projects in low resource settings that contribute to enriched patient care in our department and for our partners

Global Health Advisory Committee

A medical director and Global Health Advisory Committee consisting of department members as well as external stakeholders guides the GHU and our activities:

Dr. Heather Scott
GHU medical director
heather.scott@iwk.nshealth.ca

Samira Thomeh
Global Health coordinator
samira.thomeh@iwk.nshealth.ca

Kelly Chisholm
Midwife
kelly.chisholm@iwk.nshealth.ca

Dr. Catherine Craig
Staff, Obstetrics & Gynaecology
catherine.craig@iwk.nshealth.ca

Kelly Maher
Director, Finance & Administration
kelly.maher@iwk.nshealth.ca

Shawna O’Hearn
Director, Dalhousie Global Health Office
shawna.ohearn@dal.ca

Dr. Kiel Luhning
Resident
kiel.luhning@dal.ca

Dr. Ian Ferguson
Resident
ian.ferguson@dal.ca

Dr. Amanda Moore
Resident
amanda.moore@dal.ca

Dr. Navi Bal
Resident
navi.bal@dal.ca

Dr B. Anthony Armson
Department Head, Obstetrics and Gynaecology
anthony.armson@iwk.nshealth.ca

Una Dewtie
Nurse
una.dewtie@iwk.nshealth.ca

Kim Grant
Nurse
kim.grant@iwk.nshealth.ca

 

Global Health Interest Group

The Global Health Interest Group brings together those within the Department who are working within the Global Health mandate both at home and abroad. 

Updates and general information will be posted here for those involved and those wishing to become involved.