Departmental Awards

Thomas Arnason Pathology Prize

4th year Undergraduate students
This prize is for an undergraduate student in their 4th year to recognize the achievement of a Dalhousie medical student in the field of pathology and laboratory medicine during the four-year undergraduate MD program. Award is presented at Spring Convocation.

2023 Chris Liwski
2022 Rumana Rafiq
2021 Carley Bekkers
2020 Aleksandara Kajetanowicz
2019 Duncan MacGillivray

“Path Forward” Collaboration Award

Clinical and Research collaboration
Recognizes high impact research collaborations between our clinical and fundamental research faculty, and between departments in the Faculty of Medicine and the research hospitals. Award is presented at Research Day in spring.

2024 Victor Martinez
2023 Lauren Westhaver & Dr. Boris Gala-Lopez
2022 Dr. Dan Gaston & Sam Cutler


Resident Teaching Award

Residents (2 per year)
This award acknowledges the role of resident teachers and recognizes the excellent teaching activities among residents and fellows in the Department of Pathology. Two per year. The winners will be from two different programs unless all nominees are within a single program. Awards are presented at Research Day in spring.

2024 Rumana Rafiq & Nafisa Shandi


Best Paper Award

Clinical and Research Faculty (2 per year)
The goal of these awards is to recognize, celebrate and promote high impact publications from our faculty. Two awards are given per year, one for Clinical and one for Fundamental Research as appropriate. Awards are presented at each Research Day in spring.

2024 Fundamental Sabateeshan Mathavarajah
2024 Clinical Yu Chen
2023 Fundamental Lauren Westhaver
2023 Clinical Dr. Jason LeBlanc


David Janigan Teaching Award

Faculty (2 per year)
Honouring two faculty members in Pathology who contribute significantly to undergraduate, resident, postgraduate, and continuing medical education. All members of the Department, whether full-time, cross, or jointly- appointed, are eligible for these awards. Awards are presented at the Pathology Spring Retreat.

2023 Dr. Tish O'Reilly and Dr. Karen Bedard
2022 Dr. Jeanette Boudreau & Dr. Manal Elnenaei
2021 Dr. Ashley Stueck & Dr. Erica Schollenberg
2020 Dr. Sashi Gujar & Dr. Saul Offman
2019 Dr. David Conrad & Dr. Marnie Wood
2018 Dr. David Hoskin & Dr. Andrea Thoni
2017 Dr. Ross Davidson

Award for Excellence in Clinical Service

Medical Staff
Recognizes the contributions to clinical service. All medical staff in the Department of Pathology, whether full-time, part-time, or jointly appointed, are eligible to be nominated for an award every year. However, after winning this award, they are not eligible to be nominated again.

2022-2023 Dr. David Conrad
2021-2022 Dr. Jason LeBlanc

Award for Lifetime Achievement

Faculty and Staff
Recognizes exceptional contributions to the Department of Pathology mission in clinical service, education, research, and administration. All faculty and staff in the Department of Pathology, whether full-time, part-time, or jointly appointed, are eligible to be nominated for this award.

2022-2023 Dr. Bassam Nassar & Dr. David Haldane
2021-2022 Dr. Noreen Walsh

Dr. Wenda Greer Prize for Research Excellence

2024 Marie Claire Wasson
2023 Namit Holay
2022 Sam Cutler
2021 Meg Dahn
2020 Alyson Zwicker
2019 Wasundara Fernando


ATOM Award

2024 Dr. Jayme Salsman
2023 Dr. Jaganthan Ventatesh
2022 Dr. Wasandara Fernando


Post-Doc Fellow Travel Award

2024 Marie Claire Wasson
2023 Dr. Jaganthan Ventatesh


Research Day Awards and Prizes

Presented at Pathology Research Day in Spring of each year based on abstracts submitted. Deadline for abstracts is usually late March each year.

Best talk by a Pathology Graduate Student Hannah Cahill
Best talk by a Pathology Resident
Carley Bekkers
Best talk by an External Participant
Corey Filiaggi
Best poster by a Pathology Graduate Student Alex Gibson
Best poster by a Pathology Resident
John Loggie
Best poster by an External Participant
Marie Claire Wasson
Best poster Judges Choice Olivia Walker
Gupta Travel Award Rumana Rafiq & Ibrahim Elsharawi