Alumnus/a of the Year

Awarding excellence

Since 1968, we’ve been celebrating retired and active physicians who have made unique and international contributions to clinical practice, teaching, or research. Over the years, we’ve chosen recipients who have been internationally recognized, published, and have participated in national professional and academic societies.

Dr. David Juurlink (MD '94)

This fall, the Dalhousie Medical Alumni Association celebrates the careers of our outstanding alumni. As we embark on another year of success, the DMAA is proud to recognize the outstanding medical contributions of Dr. David Juurlink as the 2017 Alumnus of the Year Award. Dr. David Juurlink graduated from Dalhousie University with degrees in both Pharmacy and Medicine. This was followed by Residency training in Internal Medicine and Clinical Pharmacology with a Fellowship in Medical Toxicology. Additionally, he completed a PhD in Clinical Pharmacology. He is an Eaton Scholar and Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics and Health Policy, Management and Evaluation and Division Head of Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University of Toronto. He is also a senior scientist at the Institute for Clinical and Evaluative Sciences. He is on the Royal College Specialty Committee in Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology and is vice chair of its examination committee. He is recognized nationally and internationally for his clinical skills, as a teacher and for his research. As an alumnus from the class of ’94 he brings great honour to his alma mater.  

Past award recipients

2016 Dr. David Kirkpatrick (MD'79)
2015 Dr. Meng Tan (MD'69)
2014 Dr. Judy Caines (MD'73)
2013 Dr. John Akabutu (MD’67)
2012 Dr. David Dodick (MD’90)
2011 Dr. Franklin H. Sim (MD’65)
2010 Dr. William Stanish (MD’70)
2009 Dr. Dana Hanson (MD’74)
2008 Dr. Roderick McInnes (MD’70)
2007 Dr. Graham F. Pineo (MD’62)
2006 Dr. Nuala P. Kenny (MD’72)
2005 Dr. John Noseworthy (MD’75)
2004 Dr. Allan Purdy (MD’74)
2003 Dr. T.J. “Jock” Murray (MD’63)
2002 Dr. G. Ross Langley (MD’57)
2001 Dr. Robert Roberts (MD’66)
2000 Dr. Anthony R. Measham (MD’65)
1999 Dr. James A. Phills (MD’51)
1998 Dr. Ian Rusted (MD’48)
1997 Dr. George Flight (MD’50)
1996 Dr. Douglas Roy (MD’48)
1995 Dr. David Hawkins (MD’60)
1994 Dr. Eldon Smith (MD’67)
1993 Dr. Kenneth Grant (MD’57)
1992 Dr. Daniel J. Tonning (MD’38)
1991 Dr. Eldon E. Eagles (MD’36)
1990 Dr. Anne Hammerling (MD’34)
1989 Dr. Margaret E. Churchill (MD’60)
1988 Dr. Harry D. Roberts (MD’36)
1987 Dr. J. Fraser Nicholson (MD’37)
1986 Dr. W.R. Carl Tupper (MD’43)
1985 Dr. Harold L. Scammel (MD’27)
1984 Dr. M. Jean Whittier (MD’29)
1983 Dr. I. Roy Gold (MD’38)
1982 Dr. Luther R.Wynter (MD’25)
1981 Dr. Harold J. Devereux (MD’36)
1980 Dr. James B. Crowe (MD’43)
1979 Dr. R. Ian MacDonald (MD’30)
1978 Dr. Carl R. Trask (MD’38)
1977 Dr. J. Percy McGrath (MD’17)
1976 Dr. Walter C. MacKenzie (MD’33)
1975 Dr. Clarence L. Gosse (MD’39)
1974 Dr. Eva W. Mader MacDonald (MD’27)
1973 Dr. F. Murray Fraser (MD’32)
1972 Dr. Edwin F. Ross (MD’31)
1971 Dr. Charles J. Beckwith (MD’27)
1970 Dr. W. Sidney Gilchrist (MD’27)
1969 Dr. Malcolm B. Dockerty (MD’34)
1968 Dr. Clarence M. Bethune (MD’31)