Honorary President of the Year

Highlighting outstanding careers

The Honorary President Award was first awarded at the inaugural meeting of the DMAA in 1958. Since then, we’ve honoured a different senior alumnus every year. Our recipients are always highly respected in their field, and their careers and service in the practice of medicine have been outstanding.

Dr. Kevin Robbins (MD '74)

Born and raised in Corner Brook, NL, Dr. Robbins completed his MD at Dal in 1974 and attended residency training in otolaryngology and general surgery at Dalhousie and

Otolaryngology at the University of Toronto, followed by a fellowship in Head and Neck Oncology at the Institute of Laryngology and Otology of London, England. His first faculty appointment was at the University of Texas, Houston, and subsequently at MD Anderson Cancer Center. This was followed by a faculty position with the University of California, San Diego, and then in the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, University of Tennessee, Memphis, where he was Chair. Dr. Robbins has also served as Chair in the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, University of Florida, and the Division of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, Southern Illinois University. In 2004, he was appointed Professor of Otolaryngology - head and neck division at the University of Southern Illinois and the Executive Director, Simmons Cooper Cancer Institute at Southern Illinois University. He became The Executive Director Emeritus of the Simmons Cooper Cancer Center in 2014. He has served on several editorial boards, including the assistant editor of the Archives of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. He is a past president of the American Head and Neck Society and served on the Board of Governors of the American College of Surgeon. He has chaired the Committee for Head and Neck Surgery and Oncology of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery and the Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery Council of the American College of Surgeons. Dr. Robbins has served as member and in leadership positions in numerous professional organizations and committees. He is married to Dr. Gayle Woodson, a fellow academic otolaryngologist. Together they have led and continue to lead an outreach project at Kilimanjaro Christian Medical Center to support the development of an ear, nose and throat (ENT) training program in Tanzania, Africa. They travel to Tanzania twice each year for the benefit of the training program. Dr. Robbins is retired and living on Merritt Island in Florida. They have a summer home in Norris Point, near Gros Morne Park in Newfoundland.

Past award recipients

2020: Dr. Dan Reid (MD’70)
2019: Dr. Ann Collins (MD’85)
2017 Dr. Charles Maxner (MD’79)
2016 Dr. Margaret Casey (MD'68)
2015 Dr. Ivan Woolfrey (MD'65)
2014 Dr. John Stuart Soeldner (MD'59)
2013 Dr. Robert Baillie (MD'70)
2012 Dr. Jean Gray (PGM'72)
2011 Dr. Anthony Measham (MD'65)
2010 Dr. Dale Dauphine (MD'64)
2009 Dr. Ron Stewart (MD'70)
2008 Dr. David Fraser (MD'58)
2007 Dr. David T. Janigan (MD'57)
2006 Dr. Alex Gillis (MD'53)
2005 Dr. Merv Shaw (MD'65)
2004 Dr. Robert N. Anderson (MD'54)
2003 Dr. Dennis Johnston (MD'58)
2002 Dr. Harris Miller (MD'52)
2001 Dr. J. H. (Jack) Quigley (MD'51)
2000 Dr. Kenneth MacKinnon (MD'45)
1999 Dr. James F. Ross (MD'51)
1998 Dr. Burke Fullerton (MD'52)
1997 Dr. Lewis Woolner (MD'42)
1996 Dr. William F. Mason (MD'61)
1995 Dr. J.F.L. (Jack) Woodbury (MD'43)
1994 Dr. Alan Drysdale (MD'55)
1993 Dr. Emerson A. Moffitt (MD'51)
1992 Dr. Chester B. Stewart (MD'38)
1991 Dr. Irving A. Perlin (MD'43)
1990 Dr. Mary C. MacKay (MD'60)
1989 Dr. Allan J. MacLeod (MD'50)
1988 Dr. Joan M. Crosby (MD'51)
1987 Dr. J. Barbara Robinson (MD'47)
1986 Dr. N. Barrie Coward (MD'28)
1985 Dr. Donald I. Rice (MD'51)
1984 Dr. Carl K. Pearlman (MD'37)
1983 Dr. Robert O. Jones (MD'37)
1982 Dr. Donald R. Webster (MD'25)
1981 Dr. Kenneth M. Grant (MD'29)
1980 Dr. L. George Dewar (MD'43)
1979 Dr. Joseph B. MacDonald (MD'33)
1978 Dr. Angus E. Murray (MD'30)
1977 Dr. Frederick C. Jennings (MD'31)
1976 Dr. Willard C. O(MD’Brien (MD'19)
1975 Dr. Clarence M. Bethune (MD'31)
1974 Dr. Jeptha S. Munro (MD'19)
1973 Dr. John C. Wickwire (MD'27)
1972 Dr. David Drury (MD'18)
1971 Dr. Daniel F. MacInnis (MD'18)
1970 Dr. James W. Reid (MD'26)
1969 Dr. J. Percy McGrath (MD'17)
1968 Dr. H. Benge Atlee (MD'01)
1967 Dr. Gordon B. Wiswell (MD'14)
1966 Dr. Hugh W. Schwartz (MD'11)
1965 Dr. Stephen R. Johnston (MD'09)
1964 Dr. Robert A. MacLellan (MD'08)
1963 Dr. Daniel Murray (MD'03)
1962 Dr. James R. Corston (MD'02)
1960 Dr. Samuel Williamson (MD'96)
1958 Dr. Charles L. Gass (MD'14)