Training the next generation of clinicians, educators and researchers

The Department of Psychiatry provides high calibre psychiatric education to residents, fellows, medical and graduate students, and mental health professionals.

The five-year residency program trains the next generation of psychiatrists with help from over 100 faculty members serving the child and adolescent, adult and senior populations. On the successful completion of residency, further training opportunities in fellowship and subspecialty training programs are available.

The Department of Psychiatry also offers a two-year Master's in Psychiatry Research. This program equips students with the skills and knowledge needed to succeed as professionals in clinical and neuroscience research concerning mental health and illness.

We offer continuing professional development opportunities to the members of our department, other departments within the Faculty of Medicine, allied health professionals within the province and sites connected online. 


Contact us

Name Email Title
Dr. Margaret Rajda Director, Education
Dr. Mark Bosma Director, Postgraduate Education
Dr. Deborah Parker Associate Program Director, Postgraduate Education 
Dr. David Lovas Director, Child and Adolescent Subspecialty Training Program
Dr. Meagan MacNeil Interim Director, Geriatric Subspecialty Training Program
Dr. Cheryl Murphy Director, Undergraduate Education
Dr. Lara Hazelton Director, Continuing Professional Development
Dr. Lukas Propper Director, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Education
Dr. Sherry Stewart Graduate Program Coordinator
Dr. Abraham Rudnick Medical Humanities Coordinator
  Education Coordinator (C&A)
Jennifer Brown Postgraduate Coordinator
Tracy Fraser MacIsaac Education Coordinator
Kelly Hancock Undergraduate Coordinator
Mandy Esliger Evaluation & Curriculum Specialist
Hillary Yuill Research MSc Coordinator  

New Brunswick

Name Email Title
Dr. Claude Botha Director, Postgraduate Education
Dr. Joseph Aicher

Clerkship Director
Dayna Martin Administrative Assistant