Education

Training the next generation of clinicians, educators and researchers

The Department of Psychiatry provides high calibre psychiatric education to residents, fellows, medical and graduate students, and mental health professionals.

The five-year residency program trains the next generation of psychiatrists with help from over 100 faculty members serving the child and adolescent, adult and senior populations. On the successful completion of residency, further training opportunities in fellowship and subspecialty training programs are available.

The Department of Psychiatry also offers a two-year Master's in Psychiatry Research. This program equips students with the skills and knowledge needed to succeed as professionals in clinical and neuroscience research concerning mental health and illness. Our PhD in Psychiatry Research is a three-to-five-year graduate program that equips students with the skills and knowledge needed to succeed as doctoral-level professionals in clinical and neuroscience research concerning mental health and illness.

We offer continuing professional development opportunities to the members of our department, other departments within the Faculty of Medicine, allied health professionals within the province and sites connected online. 

 

Contact us

Name Email Title
Dr. Lara Hazelton lara.hazelton@nshealth.ca Department Director of Education
Dr. Deborah Parker deborah.parker@nshealth.ca Director, Postgraduate Education
Dr. Alexandra Manning
alexandra.manning@iwk.nshealth.ca Associate Director, Postgraduate Education 
Dr. David Lovas david.lovas@iwk.nshealth.ca Director, Child and Adolescent Subspecialty Residency Program
Dr. Terry Chisholm terry.chisholm@nshealth.ca Director, Geriatric Subspecialty Residency Program
Dr. Katharine Black
katharine.black@nshealth.ca Director, Undergraduate Education
Dr. Cheryl Murphy murphyc@dal.ca Director, Continuing Professional Development
Dr. Lukas Propper lukas.propper@iwk.nshealth.ca Director, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Education
Dr. Celia Robichaud celia.robichaud@iwk.nshealth.ca Pediatric Residency Coordinator
Dr. Pamela Arenella pamela.arenella@nshealth.ca Coordinator, Diploma in Clinical Psychiatry
Dr. Sherry Stewart
sherry.stewart@dal.ca Graduate Program Coordinator
Dr. Mahmoud Awara mahmoud.awara@nshealth.ca Director of International Fellowships Program
Dr. Abraham Rudnick abraham.rudnick@nshealth.ca Medical Humanities Coordinator
Adrienne McCarthy adrienne.mccarthy@iwk.nshealth.ca Education and Research Coordinator (C&A)
Jennifer Brown
jen.brown@nshealth.ca Postgraduate Coordinator
Tyler Creelman tyler.creelman@nshealth.ca Acting Education Coordinator
Tracy Fraser MacIsaac
tracy.fraser@nshealth.ca Education Coordinator
Kelly Hancock
kelly.hancock@nshealth.ca Undergraduate Coordinator
Mandy Esliger mandy.esliger@nshealth.ca Evaluation & Curriculum Specialist
Anila Balakrishnan   Research Coordinator  


New Brunswick

Name Email Title
Dr. Claude Botha cl590742@dal.ca Director, Postgraduate Education
Dr. Joseph Aicher

joseph.aicher@gnb.ca

Clerkship Director
Dayna Martin
Dayna.Martin@HorizonNB.ca Administrative Assistant