Welcome to the Department of Psychiatry

The Department of Psychiatry is a clinical academic department within the Faculty of Medicine at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Our mission is threefold—to provide excellent clinical care, superior educational programs and support cutting edge research in psychiatry.

We offer training in undergraduate education, postgraduate education, a Masters in Psychiatry Research, a PhD in Psychiatry Research and continuing education in psychiatry within the Faculty of Medicine. Our five-year residency program trains the next generation of psychiatrists with help from over 100 faculty members serving the child and adolescent, adult and senior populations.

The department boasts a very strong research program and collaborates with researchers anywhere from across the street to around the world. A PhD program in psychiatry research is expected to be available in the near future.

Members of the department provide expert secondary and tertiary mental health care to the people of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island within the mental health programs at  Nova Scotia Health and IWK Health.