2016 Honourary President of the Year

Highlighting outstanding careers

The Honorary President Award was first awarded at the inaugural meeting of the DMAA in 1958. Since then, we’ve honoured a different senior alumnus every year. Our recipients are always highly respected in their field, and their careers and service in the practice of medicine have been outstanding.

Dr. Margaret Casey (MD '68)

Each year, the Dalhousie Medical Alumni Association celebrates the careers of our alumni who significantly contributed to the medical profession. One of the DMAA’s most prestigious awards is the Honourary President’s Award, bestowed to a senior local alumni, or past or present members of the Faculty of Medicine, who are highly respected and whose careers and services in the practice of medicine have been outstanding. This year, the Association is proud to present the 2016 Honourary President’s Award to a vibrant alumna, Dr. Margaret Casey who served 25 years as Director of the North End Community Health Association Clinic, Director of Admissions for Dalhousie University’s Faculty of Medicine, Past President of the DMAA Board of Directors and recipient of the Order of Canada.