Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Neuroscience

Making the connections

Our neuroscience research team is working on a variety of projects that make important links between the nervous system and behavior, health and sensory function. Our projects include:

  • retinal neurobiology and ion channel function in synaptic communication
  • hormones and behaviour 

  • visual function in health and disease

  • mechanisms of synaptic transmission and plasticity 

  • regulation of neurotransmitter release
  • sensory transduction and information encoding by mechanoreceptors and chemoreceptors
  • synaptic modulation of sensory processes
  • neural network structure and dynamics
  • organization of the developing olfactory system
  • neural control of the heart

Our team

Steven Barnes
Email: steven.barnes@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3367

Richard Brown
Email: richard.brown@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3647

Balwantray Chauhan
Email: balwantray.chauhan@dal.ca
Phone: 902-473-3202

Roger Croll
Email: roger.croll@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6417

Alan Fine
Email: affine@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1251

Andrew French
Email: andrew.french@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1302

Stefan Krueger
Email: stefankrueger@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1614

Ian Meinertzhagan
Email: i.a.meinertzhagan@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-2131

Paivi Torkkeli

Email: paivi.torkkeli@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-2672

Francois Tremblay
Email: ftremblay@dal.ca
Phone: 902-470-8326

Jian Wang
Email: jian.wang@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-5149