Global Health News

» Go to news main

Shirley Case Leadership Award for Global Citizenship

Posted by GHO Admin on May 11, 2016 in Events

Submission Deadline: May 24, 2016 @ 4pm

The Shirley Case Leadership Award for Global Citizenship is presented annually to an individual in Atlantic Canada who has demonstrated a spirit of global citizenship in a local, national or international capacity and who has helped create a more just and sustainable world.  The award was created in the spring of 2009 by the Board of Directors of the Atlantic Council for International Co-operation (ACIC) to honour the life of Shirley Case, a former ACIC intern, who was killed in Afghanistan in 2008 while working with the International Rescue Committee. This year’s award is specific to individuals who are being recognized for “Significant Achievement.”

The Shirley Case Leadership Award has four objectives:

  • To officially recognize leaders in Atlantic Canada that are actively involved as global citizens;
  • To draw public attention to the full scope of global citizenship and engagement activities;
  • To inspire individuals to continue their involvement in the international cooperation movement; and
  • To honour the memory of Shirley Case

We are currently accepting nominations of staff and volunteers of ACIC, its member organizations and individual ACIC members who have made a significant contribution to the betterment of the global community and demonstrate the following:

  • Strong collaboration with like-minded organizations and individuals
  • A sense of intrinsic voluntarism
  • Extraordinary leadership skills
  • A commitment to sharing knowledge and strengthening links of solidarity and collegiality between Atlantic Canada and the global south.

Further information as well as the nomination form can be found here: All nominations must be submitted by MAY 24th at 4 PM (AST).

The award will be presented at the gala evening dinner on June 10th, in conjunction with the ACIC Annual General Meeting & Symposium to be held in Halifax, NS from June 9-11, 2016. The winner will receive a cash prize of $500 CAD as well as a commemorative award.